top of page
  • Writer's pictureLeah

River Market: Kansas City, MO

a great place to take the whole family

If you haven't made a trip down to the River Market in Kansas City, you are seriously missing out. There are so many things to do for the whole family! There are tons of shops and restaurants to explore, plus one of my favorite things is going to the Farmer's Market. It's so cool to walk around and see all of the different vendors and products available! It's definitely a cool experience that I think everyone should do at least once while they live in or visit the area.


"One of the major attractions to the River Market include the City Market – and is the namesake for the “market” part of the River Market. The City Market’s Farmers’ Market is the largest farmers’ market in the region bringing “Farm to Table” right to the heart of the city with fresh produce and goods on Saturday and Sunday. There are also many businesses inside the City Market, who are also members of the larger River Market Community Association. "

In addition to the temporary vendors/booths, there were also a few food trucks parked outside of the Farmer's Market on the day we went. The brick & mortar stores around the market are really cool to explore as well. There is a spice store with large containers to scoop out your favorite spices, a coffee stop, a bakery, and a tea shop with loose leaf tea to mix and match to your liking. There is even an Italian restaurant that does cooking on a massive grill right on the sidewalk as you walk through.

The whole environment is just so fun and exciting. It honestly reminds me of when I took a trip to Austria as a kid. I thought it was so cool that there were vendors and food everywhere you turned, right out on the street. The river market definitely gives that incredible vibe that you can't really describe until you experience it.

One of my favorite stores to walk through is right on the corner of the market. I honestly don't know what it's called and I can't find the name of the shop on the website... but it has tons of flowers outside and some metal sculptures. You can't miss it! It is such a fun place to walk around; so many fun and unique items for all kinds of tastes. You can learn more about visiting the River Market by clicking the button below to visit the area's website.


Don't forget to grab some coffee while you walk around and shop! I visited the Opera House and had one of the best almond milk lattes I've had in a very long time. It was perfectly made. I also grabbed a large bag of whole coffee beans which they bagged, sealed, and labeled as I ordered. It was so cool and extremely fresh! I highly recommend you give them a visit.

I hope you take some time to check it out! It's really such a fun place to explore and is definitely worth walking around and window shopping at the least. If you go, make sure you tell me about it! I would love to hear what your favorite things were and of course what you bought! Feel free to reach out any time and share your experience(s) with me.


Like the Just A Struggle Bus Mom blog? Make sure you click the button below to subscribe to my email newsletters! Stay in the know of recipes, things to do & see, local finds, kid activities, holiday inspiration, and beauty tips, tricks, tutorials and techniques!


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page